Tyendinaga Mohawk Council

Chief R. Donald Maracle, message

Kanyen’kehà:ka kanakerahsera nène yà:yak nihonnonhwentsyà:ke Rotinonhsyòn:ni ne Raotinèn:ra. Yakwayà:tare ne yà:yak nihonnonhwentsyà:ke teyakwèn:rayen ne Rotinonhsyòn:ni ne Raotinèn:ra tahnon yakwayà:tare ne A.I.A.I. Onkwehòn:we.

Ensewanonhton yahasewe karonwarà:ke kahyatonhsera ahsateweyenhste tsi niyonkwarihò:ten ne onkwanakerahserà:ton, MBQ ratihyatonhkwa tontkà:was ne tsi niyoterihwatyè:ron tahnon ne Ratitsyenhayens ne Kenhteke Kanyen`kehà:ka.

The Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte (MBQ) are proud of our heritage, history and culture. MBQ is part of the Mohawk Nation within the Six Nations Iroquois Confederacy.

We are one of the Six Nation communities politically associated with the Iroquois Caucus and a member First Nation of the Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians (AIAI).

We welcome you to explore our website to learn more about our community and culture, the programs and services provided by the MBQ Administration and the political leadership of Tyendinaga Mohawk Council.


Tyendinaga Mohawk Council (TMC) are the representatives elected to serve the needs of community members in the Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte (MBQ).  TMC provides the political direction for MBQ, actively participating in lobbying efforts and relationships with the Federal and Provincial governments, as well as industry.  TMC also oversees and makes decisions regarding MBQ Administration finances, programs and initiatives. 

Each council serves a two-year term of office.  The current term of office began in December 2019 and ends in December 2021 when an election will take place. 

TMC holds bi-monthly council meetings, and bi-monthly local business meetings to address issues and concerns affecting MBQ Administration operations and the community.

R. Donald Maracle, Chief


613-396-3089 (H)

613-391-9249 (C)

– All Portfolios
– Media Relations – Council Spokesperson
– AIAI Chiefs Rep – COO Liaison
– External Government Relations –Lobby/Funding
– Fed/Pro Legislative Initiatives
– Chiefs Committee on Health
– Seniors Issues
– Major Capital Projects

Josh Hill, Councillor


613-827-5667 (C) 

– Post Secondary Education
– Daycare
– Headstart
– Quinte Mohawk School – Operations
– Elementary k-8
– Secondary Education
– Busing
– Library
– Before & After School Program
– Ohahase

Stacia Loft


613-438-1488 (C)

– Health Services
– Home Support
– Red Cedars
– Ontario Works
– Mohawk Family Services
– QHC Diabetes
– Income Support
– Home & Community Care
– Youth Services
– Fitness Centre

Stacia Loft (Ie’khahatakhe) is Kanyen’keha:ka from Tyendinaga Mohawk Territory. She received her Juris Doctor from Queen’s University in January 2020, and a Bachelor of Arts, Hons. from the University of Western Ontario in 2004. Stacia was recently appointed the Director of Indigenous Initiatives and EDII Programs at Queen’s Law. Stacia also serves as Deputy Grand Chief of the Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians (AIAI). She completed her Articles with Amnesty International and was called to the Bar in May 2021.

Stacia served on Tyendinaga Mohawk Council as an elected Band Councillor from 2015 to 2019. She began her career supporting Indigenous youth program development, delivery and management, and transitioned to managing justice programs at the Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres. She is highly skilled in strategic and operational management and has held leadership roles on local, provincial and federal boards and advisory tables for the past 16 years.

An avid runner, Stacia has completed several 5km, 10km, half-marathons and marathons. In pursuit of health and well-being, Stacia enjoys cooking traditional and contemporary foods and spending as much time as she can with her family.

Carl (Ted) Maracle, Councillor


613-966-0009 (H)

613-885-2458 (C)

– Roads
– Water & Sewer
– Sanitation
– Environment
– Mohawk Fire Department
– Emergency Preparedness
– Technical Services
– Utilities
– Special Projects – Tobacco Quotas

Chris Maracle 


613-438-6854 (C)

– New Construction
– Renovations
– Band Rentals
– Elders Lodge – Maintenance
– Band Property Maintenance
– Parks
– Recreation Complex – Future Planning/Maintenance


Additional Information

Elections 2021

MBQ Elections Results for 1 Chief and 4 Councillors are:

Maracle, R. Donald – 908
Miracle, Karoniakeshon (Andrew C) – 69

Number of valid ballots cast for candidates for chief – 977
Number of rejected ballots for candidates for chief – 43

Brant, Kurtis ‘Chip’ – 484
Ferrante, Erin Leigh – 551
Hill, Josh – 599
Loft, Manson – 208
Loft, Stacia – 597
Maracle, Carl ‘Ted’ 629
Maracle, Chris – 587

Number of valid ballots cast for candidates for councillor – 1,006
Number of rejected ballots for candidates for councillor – 14


Chief – Maracle, R. Donald

Maracle, Carl (Ted)

Hill, Josh

Loft, Stacia

Maracle, Chris

Elections 2019

MBQ Elections Results for 1 Chief and 4 Councillors are:

Hill, Balin (Spiderman) 33
Loft, Stacia 290
Maracle, R. Donald 650
Miracle, Karoniakeshon (Andrew C) 22

Brant, Chase Ryan Samson “Ogwari” 378
Hill, Josh 714
Leween, Lynda 593
Maracle, Carl (Ted) 665
Maracle, Chris M. 573
Maracle, Kelly (Brant) 649

Chief – Maracle, R. Donald

Hill, Josh
Maracle, Carl (Ted)
Maracle, Kelly (Brant)
Leween, Lynda

Council Minutes

Council minutes will be posted after they have been approved by TMC.

If you don’t already have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed, you can download the latest version here.