Chief R. Donald Maracle, message

Kanyen’kehà:ka kanakerahsera nène yà:yak nihonnonhwentsyà:ke Rotinonhsyòn:ni ne Raotinèn:ra. Yakwayà:tare ne yà:yak nihonnonhwentsyà:ke teyakwèn:rayen ne Rotinonhsyòn:ni ne Raotinèn:ra tahnon yakwayà:tare ne A.I.A.I. Onkwehòn:we.

Ensewanonhton yahasewe karonwarà:ke kahyatonhsera ahsateweyenhste tsi niyonkwarihò:ten ne onkwanakerahserà:ton, MBQ ratihyatonhkwa tontkà:was ne tsi niyoterihwatyè:ron tahnon ne Ratitsyenhayens ne Kenhteke Kanyen`kehà:ka.

The Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte (MBQ) are proud of our heritage, history and culture. MBQ is part of the Mohawk Nation within the Six Nations Iroquois Confederacy.

We are one of the Six Nation communities politically associated with the Iroquois Caucus and a member First Nation of the Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians (AIAI).

We welcome you to explore our website to learn more about our community and culture, the programs and services provided by the MBQ Administration and the political leadership of Tyendinaga Mohawk Council.


Tyendinaga Mohawk Council (TMC) are the representatives elected to serve the needs of community members in the Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte (MBQ).  TMC provides the political direction for MBQ, actively participating in lobbying efforts and relationships with the Federal and Provincial governments, as well as industry.  TMC also oversees and makes decisions regarding MBQ Administration finances, programs and initiatives. 

Each council serves a two-year term of office.  The current term of office began in December 2019 and ends in December 2021 when an election will take place. 

TMC holds bi-monthly council meetings, and bi-monthly local business meetings to address issues and concerns affecting MBQ Administration operations and the community.


R. Donald Maracle, Chief


All portfolios, media relations – council spokesperson, AIAI chiefs rep, COO liaison,  external government relations – lobby/funding, federal/provincial legislative initiatives, Chiefs Committee on Health, Seniors Issues, BREC/Drainall, and major capital projects

  • Contact information: 613-396-3424 ext. 106 or 613-391-9249 (c) or [email protected]
  • Chief of the Mohawks of Bay of Quinte since 1993 (28 years)
  • MBQ councilor for 12 years prior to initial election as chief
  • Federal public servant for 15 years – Finance and administration branch
  • Advocate at Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians (AIAI), Chiefs of Ontario (COO), Assembly of First Nations (AFN), Federal and Provincial governments
  • Past director, First Nations Technical Institute (FNTI), Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians (AIAI), Ontario Heritage Foundation
  • Chair of Christ Church restoration committee, raised $1.2 million
  • Knowledge of Mohawk language
  • Director Mohawk Singers, Kanyengeh Festival Board
  • Negotiated $1.2 million Turton Penn Highway Settlement
  • Lobbied INAC to accept Culbertson Claim for negotiation

Josh Hill, Councillor


Post-secondary education, daycare, Headstart, Quinte Mohawk School – operations, elementary K-8, secondary education, busing, library, before & after school program, Ohahase

Contact Information:  613-827-5667 (c) or [email protected]

  • Graduate of the Aboriginal Law & Advocacy Program
  • Studied Political Science and Indigenous Studies
  • Previous MBQ staff experience in Housing and Infrastructure programs
  • Former student success facilitator
  • Previous employment experience with Assembly of First Nations and Chiefs Of Ontario
  • Current chair of the Tyendinaga Education Committee
  • Member of the Hastings & Prince Edward District School Board Indigenous Education Advisory Council
  • Strong advocate for reshaping post-secondary programming to better serve the community
  • Promote youth engagement in all aspects of community affairs and encourage the establishment of a youth council
  • Creating inclusivity in decision making processes
  • Generating sustainable and profitable economic development for Tyendinaga Mohawk Territory

Lynda Leween, Councillor

Portfolio: HOUSING

New Construction, Renovations, RRAP – CMHC, HASI – CMHC, band rentals, Elders Lodge – maintenance, Band Property Maintenance, parks, recreation complex – future planning/maintenance 

Contact Information: 613-438-6259 or [email protected] 

Carl (Ted) Maracle, Councillor

Roads, water & sewer, sanitation, environment, Mohawk Fire Department, emergency preparedness, technical services, utilities, special projects – tobacco quotas

Contact information: 613-396-3424 or 613-885-2458 (c) or [email protected]

  • Currently an electrical inspector with the Electrical Safety Authority with 18 years previous experience as an employee of the Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte as an electrician
  • Been a volunteer member of the Tyendinaga Education Committee for approximately the past 20 years
  • Member of the Mohawk Pentecostal Church for over 30 years and have served as a board member, secretary treasurer, Sunday school teacher, youth leader and actively as a worship leader.
  • Have served as a volunteer on many steering committees over the years and have been involved in policy development/amendments throughout our community programs and services.

I understand there are many outstanding issues and concerns in our community, such as the proposed water treatment plant, education funding, our aging infrastructure (Administration office, Fire hall, School, Roads, etc.), by-laws or the lack thereof. I will ensure that the community is aware of the status or progress of these issues through regular correspondence.

I am determined to serve you, our community, in an open, respectful, honest, fair and consistent manner.


Kelly Maracle, Councillor

Due to health concerns, Kelly Maracle stepped down from council in 2021.

    Additional Information

    Elections 2019

    MBQ Elections Results for 1 Chief and 4 Councillors are:

    Hill, Balin (Spiderman) 33
    Loft, Stacia 290
    Maracle, R. Donald 650
    Miracle, Karoniakeshon (Andrew C) 22

    Brant, Chase Ryan Samson “Ogwari” 378
    Hill, Josh 714
    Leween, Lynda 593
    Maracle, Carl (Ted) 665
    Maracle, Chris M. 573
    Maracle, Kelly (Brant) 649

    Chief – Maracle, R. Donald

    Hill, Josh
    Maracle, Carl (Ted)
    Maracle, Kelly (Brant)
    Leween, Lynda

    Council Minutes

    Council minutes will be posted after they have been approved by TMC.

    If you don’t already have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed, you can download the latest version here.