TONTAKAYÈ:RI’NE RESTORATIVE JUSTICE AND GLADUE SERVICES

The Tontakayè:ri’ne (it has become right again) Restorative Justice and Gladue Services is an alternative for youth involved with the justice system. The program brings together victims, offenders, and families or advocates in a safe environment to discuss the offence and its effects, and then jointly decide on the best way to right the wrong. This Indigenous conflict resolution process validates victims, offenders, families, and advocates, and creates healing. The program receives referrals from police, crown attorneys, local schools, and community agencies. We are expanding Tontakaiê:rine to offer more culturally-relevant mentorship, youth events, and ongoing support for families, and are looking at delivering training to professionals in the youth services field.

Mission 

Tontakayè:ri’ne is an alternative to mainstream court intended for Indigenous people in conflict with the law; as such the TJC aspires to provide all participants that were affected by the ‘wrong-doing’ with a positive, transformative experience using holistic circle processes.

By focusing on natural law and the importance of upholding our responsibilities as Haudenosaunee, the TJC seeks to create healthier relationships and to promote a better understanding of Indigenous identity and belonging.

Contact Information:

Thonà:wayen Stephen Green

Acting Manager of Indigenous Court Services & Youth Diversion

613-438-6514

Elissa Robertson

Gladue Writer

613-813-5831

elissar@mbq-tmt.org

Priscilla Krebs

Gladue Writer

priscillak@mbq-tmt.org

613-813-5828

Wahyayéhson Johanna Webb

Gladue Aftercare Caseworker

johannaw@mbq-tmt.org

613-813-5887

Crystal Teyohserathe Bernhardt

Adult Diversion

613-438-6967

crystalh@mbq-tmt.org

Karennenha:wi Nicole Storms

Youth Diversion

nicolestorms@mbq-tmt.org

613-813-4892

Kate Coursey

FNMI Court Worker

613-813-5826

katec@mbq-tmt.org

 

Jessica Maracle

Gladue Aftercare Caseworker

jessicam@mbq-tmt.org

613-813-5836